Australian Christian Books of the Year 2012

2012 Australian Christian Book of the Year:

Murray Seiffert’s Gumbuli of Ngukurr

The Australian Christian Book of the Year was announced last night at the Australian Christian Literature Awards in Melbourne. Gumbuli of Ngukurr (Acorn Press) emerged victorious from over forty entries submitted this year.

Second prize was awarded to A Short History of Christianity (Viking) by Geoffrey Blainey. 
Love, Tears and Autism: An Australian mother’s journey from heartbreak to hope (Ark House) by Cecily Paterson took third prize.

What the judges had to say about Gumbuli of Ngukurr:
Few indigenous Australians have been the subject of so rigorous a biography. This is a unique and timely contribution to the story of Aboriginal engagement with western culture and Christianity.

Always informative it also, at times, makes for profoundly uncomfortable and provocative reading. This singular story of indigenous protagonism, self-determination and leadership in the face of overwhelming   obstacles—hostile opposition, blind ignorance and numbing indifference—maps a way forward for the peoples of this continent. The complete judges’ comments can be found at:

About the award:
The Australian Christian Book of   the Year Award is given annually to an original book written by an   Australian and published by an Australian publisher. The Award recognises and celebrates excellence in Australian Christian writing and carries a prize of $2,500.

Entries are judged with an eye to the: original nature of the work, literary style, suitability for the target audience, competence and expertise displayed by the author, design and layout and contribution that the book makes in meeting a need for Christian writing in Australia.

Visit today.

Also see, Australian Christian Books of the Year! (2011) and Australian Christian Book of the Year – Shortlist 2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *